Excelsior Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Linuxhippy

Question about academic license

Hi there,

I am a student at the technical university vienna in Austria. I am developing an open-source RIA browser, well, which could benefit a lot from Excelsior-JET.

It would be great if you could answer me a few questions about the academic license:

1.) My project is GPL and freeware, not commercial but not directly linked to my university activies for now.

I hope I can make my diploma using this stuff as its some really complicated piece of software for my terms and quite tricky , but, for now its not linked with university. May I use the academic license for this project?

2.) Is it allowed to deploy my RIA browser on the internet? Whats about companies using my RIA browser, and adding/developing own plugins (using java-classes dynamically loaded with the "small" JIT compiler). Is this allowed?

Will the academic license display a popup like the evaluation version?

Has the academic license a global optimizer, thats the only feature I really care about.

3.) If all those points are fine, how long does the license last?

If I finish with university, are the distributed executables not legal anymore, or may I just not use my academic anymore license to compile new code to native?

Thanks for answering, lg Clemens

PS: Jet is cool :-)

Hi there,

I am a student at the technical university vienna in Austria. I am developing an open-source RIA browser, well, which could benefit a lot from Excelsior-JET.

It would be great if you could answer me a few questions about the academic license:

1.) My project is GPL and freeware, not commercial but not directly linked to my university activies for now.

First of all, the Excelsior JET Runtime license is not GPL-compatible. LGPL, BSD, CPL, and many other open-source licenses are all fine, but not GPL.

If you own the copyright, you may dual-license your project or change the license.