Excelsior Forums
Sign in to follow this  
david1234

performance issue on a dualcore

Hi,

I have been using JET for a few years now for our software package and up to know had no major issues (except for memory management in the early days). Now we have a customer with a dualcore 2.79GHz HP machine and following strange behavior:

our old version of the software compiled with JET 5.0 runs at normal speed

our newer version, compiled with JET6.0 runs on this machine several times slower! We are not facing this issue on other PCs which are also dualcore or single core.

I haven't tried 6.0MP1 yet, could this help? Has anyone else seen something like this?

What would you need to help identify the source of the slow down?

Thanks

David

Hi,

The slowdown is probably caused by using the Classic option of the JET Runtime which is not optimized for HyperThread, multi-core and multi-CPU systems.

Please select the Desktop Runtime on the Target page of JET Control Panel, recompile your application and check its performance.

--ZZ Top

I checked the compiler settings, and they  were on Deskop runtime.

I also recompiled my application after applying the mainetance pack on 6.0, also with the Desktop runtime: still slow down effect (by this I mean 3 to 5 times slower than a single core with same frequency). This was on a Pentium D 915.

I will run a few tests on various other dual cores I can lay my hand on and also try the beta version of the compiler and will report what I see.

I also recompiled my application after applying the mainetance pack on 6.0, also with the Desktop runtime: still slow down effect

Run your application on Sun JRE on both single- and multi-core systems and check if the slowdown takes place.

We need to know if the problem is caused by the JET Runtime or the application itself does not scale well.

Ok will do.

I also did following test: