Excelsior Forums
Sign in to follow this  
deiruch

NullPointerException in String.format

Hi there

I'm a developer of Cultris, a free tetris clone (http://gewaltig.net). The game is compiled & distributed with Excelsior JET & JetPack. It works quite well. We collect crash logs, recently I recieved one from an anonymous user with this excepction:

java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.util.Formatter.format(Formatter.class:0)
at java.util.Formatter.format(Formatter.class:0)
at java.lang.String.format(String.java:2838)
at net.gewaltig.cultris.game.achievements.DurationAchievement.achieved(DurationAchievement.java:69)
at net.gewaltig.cultris.game.challenges.Challenge.verifyAchievements(Challenge.java:69)
at net.gewaltig.cultris.gui.menu.GameChallenge.updateDT(GameChallenge.java:190)
at net.gewaltig.cultris.gui.OpenGLGUI.updateDT(OpenGLGUI.java:190)
at net.gewaltig.cultris.tools.UpdateManager.update(UpdateManager.java:63)
at net.gewaltig.cultris.Cultris.main(Cultris.class:98)

(The line numbers aren't correct). The interesting code is in DurationAchievement.achieved():

public boolean achieved(Playfield _pf)
 {
   float rt=duration-(float)_pf.playDuration;
   if(rt<0)
     rt=0;

if(bigLabel!=null)
     bigLabel.setCaption(String.format("%d:%05.2f",(int)rt/60,rt%60));

return _pf.state==PlayfieldState.PLAYING && _pf.playDuration>duration;
 }

How on earth can this code throw a NullPointerException in String.format(...)?

The code was compiled with Excelsior Jet 7.2, J6SE 22. From what I see in the logs the user ran the game under Windows 7 x86 with lots of free memory on a quad-core machine.

Cheers,

Simon

Yes, of course. But without any success.

You may try to write a stress test executing this code fragment in multiple threads on a quad-core box.

Please let us know if you manage to reproduce the problem.

More random crashes...

java.lang.StringIndexOutOfBoundsException: String index out of range: 3