Excelsior Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Graham

(Legal) Using Jet with libraries

Has anybody compiled a list of licences that Jet can be used with? I'm currently working on an application which I intend to sell, my understanding is that generally I can use LGPL and Apache licensed libraries in something I?m going to sell (assuming I don?t make any changes to the library). But what are the restrictions on compiling them (with Jet) and packaging them for install. Does this count as altering them or in the case of the LGPL) making a derivative work?

? Graham

I am not a lawyer, but I have considered this quite a bit. The argument I would pose is that I am charging for the added value (i.e. all of this code separately does not accomplish what I created)...I am not charging for the code, I am charging for my labor.

The GPL is more about 'giving back to the community' any code you have modified or improved that you 'took' from the community; but how do you do that with an executable? The GPL has nothing regarding an executable as far as I know. This is still a 'sticky' issue.

However, the GPL (in my opinion) cannot stop me from 'gleening' information, so it has its weeknesses. In fact, what is there (besides a patent) to stop someone from merely looking at how my application works (not even looking at the code) and discerning what they want?

JR

DISCLAIMER: I am not a lawyer, so this is all my opinion.

My reading of the Apache License v2.0 is that as long as you meet the criteria of section 4, you are fine redistributing a AOT compiled version of this library.