Excelsior Forums
Jetfire

JAva PLugin Framework (JPF)

HEllo everyone,

I'm new to using JEt but it seems like the kind of tool we need. However, our application is a LARGE one. It consists of something like 240 JAR files  ;)

That in itself can be a problem, but nothing that a little work can fix.  My question is concerning our use of JPF. It's a plugin framework that uses XML files to dynamically know which jar to put in the classpath. Now if I manage ton cert all my JAR files to DLL, will the framework know which dll conresponds to which jar?

I'm new to using JEt but it seems like the kind of tool we need.

Now if I manage ton cert all my JAR files to DLL, will the framework know which dll conresponds to which jar?

The answer depends on what's the purpose of using Excelsior JET for your application. Please let us know more details.

The answer depends on what's the purpose of using Excelsior JET for your application. Please let us know more details.

Our purpose is to speed up the execution and loading of the Swing components. We noticed that the first opening of a Swing window is very long and are looking for a way to speed up this process.

Our purpose is to speed up the execution and loading of the Swing components.

Thanks for this clarification.

For this purpose, compiling each jar into a separate DLL is not a solution. Taking into account the number of jar files on your application's classpath, it would slow down start-up time due to the overheads inherent to OS dynamic linking.

After all, did you ever see a native app that loaded 240 DLLs? If yes, how fast did it start?  B)

I believe that you can improve start-up time of your application with Excelsior JET iff

- you compile all jars into a single executable; and

- enable the Global Optimizer